Rothko

by Sonja Kramer Haag

DSC_3955

Mark Rothko (the artist I chose to use for my blog banner) has always been one of my favorite artists. It has been said that his paintings move people to tears. I can testify. I have only had the chance to stand in front of a few of his works at the Milwaukee Art Museum or to thumb through a book I have of his work, even still, viewing them on the thick white pages of a hardcover, coffee table book, his canvas still sings to me a lullaby and sucks me into the threads of its composition and color. It’s with Rothko’s same abstract expression that my subconscious talks to me in my dreams, through my emotions and with each breath I focus on.

I am beginning a series of photographs that use the similar strokes and color palates, similar size and depth through my own expression and voice.

Feedback is appreciated

DSC_3955

SKH

